Beyond Boundaries

October 3, 2009 § 9 Comments

One of the main purposes of my blog is to showcase the beauty of multiculturalism. This is partly due to the fact that I am fluent (supposedly) in several languages. It is hard to master that many languages without becoming immersed in the unique cultures that accompany them.

In my spare time, I translate and proofread documents for law offices. I work mostly with people who apply for K-1 Fiancé Visa. According to the laws, applicants and their fiancés have to provide detailed accounts of their relationships. What most interesting is the varying length of the documents. Some submit 20-30 pages detailing their relationships; others submit merely a page or even less than that (yah for me!). Here is an excerpt of one of my recent works. I found this one quite touching.

…………………..

I, hereby, affirm that the following statements on the relationship between Ms. TTB and I are true.

I migrated to the United States with my parents in 1985. I am currently residing in Chicago, Illinois. Throughout my time living in the United States, I always long for opportunities to return to my native land to visit my siblings and relatives who are living in the country. I made my first return trip to (blank) in 2004. During the visit, I was able to rekindle kinship ties with many of my siblings and relatives. I left for the United States after one month. It was not until October 2006 when I finally had another opportunity to return to (blank).

In my second visit, I stayed at my older brother HDT’s residence. During one gathering, my nephew jokingly suggested that I should look for a (blank) date. In a chance meeting, my nephew introduced me to one of his friends named TTB. We fell in love with each other at first sight. Our love bond became even stronger after we got to know more about each other. She and I spent a lot of time together traveling to many vacation spots and scenic places. Unfortunately, I soon had to leave TTB and returned to the U.S. We managed to maintain our distant relationship through phone calls and other mediums.

I returned to (blank) with my father in April 9, 2007 determined to take the relationship to another level. TTB was ecstatic about my return. She personally greeted me at the airport, holding a beautiful flower bouquet on her hand. When she saw me at the airport terminal, she showered me with kisses and tears; it was a moment I would never forget. We were able to spend some really quality time together; it was the happiest time in our lives.

Roughly one week after the memorable reunion at the airport, we finally came to an inevitable conclusion. With the consent of both families, we got engaged on April 18, 2007 in a ceremony witnessed by our families and friends. The engagement was a huge stepping stone for both TTB and I. We spent several days after the engagement visiting old friends and traveling to different vacation spots. We stayed for a considerable length at the residence of a relative named PVB. I returned to the United States shortly after.

TTB and I continued to further nurture our profound love through phone calls and letters. However, we both soon realized the need for us to be together and share life joys side by side. Less than one year after my last visit to (blank), I decided to make another return to the place of longing. There were two unique reasons for my visit. One was to celebrate the traditional New Year with family and friends. Another was to reunite with TTB and spend some quality time with her.

During my visit, TTB and I did some sightseeing around (blank); we stayed at the (blank) Garden hotel for the trip. The two of us also traveled to the countryside to enjoy the beautiful scenery there. I returned to the United States not too long after. On June 12, 2008, TTB was interviewed by the Office of the U.S. Consulate General. However, we were notified shortly afterwards that more documents and evidences of the relationship are needed to finalize her application for a K-1 Fiancé Visa.

I ask the Consulate General to reassess the application so TTB and I can finally be together.

~~~~~

Tagged: ,

§ 9 Responses to Beyond Boundaries

  • steve says:

    Truly beautiful story..I hope they can get approved..sounds like true love……Zman sends

  • PiedType says:

    What a sweet story. Hope everything works out for them.

  • vishesh says:

    touching indeed….:)

  • Yes, it is so touching . . . I wish them good luck!

  • mimulus says:

    I’m touched by his honesty and simplicity in writing about it. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for them 🙂 .

  • sugali says:

    I was hoping to find out what happen in the end. I love happy endings. This being such a really good(from the heart) story.

    Is it a requirement that they must provide detail reasons when applying for K-1 Fiancé Visa?
    ……………..
    leafless – They must provide detailed accounts of their relationships including phone records, emails, personal letters, ect…Very strict!

  • enreal says:

    Isn’t it funny how little freedom we truly have? We can not live where we want to live… travel where we want to travel… I understand the reasons for this system and indeed it benefits many… I have been on the applicants side before (still am) different circumstances, yet similar feelings… showing of a slight desperation when someone else holds your desires.

    This is a touching story, yet there is something missing… perhaps it is my cynicism that is added. please pardon my negativity… i believe boundaries are meant to be self imposed and broken… not imposed and guarded

  • Miel says:

    i agree with the comments… his explanations were simple but very touching hope it was a happy ending for bot of them

  • Alpana says:

    Thanks Simon..I have missed visiting your site for some time now. You have a gift that is able to see beyond human boundaries. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Beyond Boundaries at Good Morning, Mr. Simon.

meta

